Goodwood Festival of Speed, 2014 & my twenty-five ‘favourite’ images…

If there’s one event that I look forward to working at every year, it has to be the Goodwood Festival of Speed and I’ve been lucky enough to have been commissioned by the same client for the last six years.

My time is split between covering the action on the hill (starting on Thursday with the very popular Moving Motor Show) and covering the various aspects of my client’s presence at the event which is spread over 4 different locations.

My main focus as far as the action on the hill is concerned is capturing images of my client’s cars, and this year they had a great showing of their motorsport heritage. Whilst I’m waiting for the ‘right‘ car to make its appearance in its assigned ‘batch’ (as each group of cars is called) I take the opportunity to check exposure, composition etc. Plus, quite frankly, I take a few pictures for my own archive of the fantastic machinery that flies past me – machinery of all types that you only get to see once a year at the Goodwood Festival of Speed.

I have a motorsport background, but this year, probably for the first time I had a real appreciation for the history of motorsport and the effect it’s had on our everyday ‘drives’! Not only the engineering that went into creating some of the most iconic racing machinery, but also the ‘racers’ who drove them.

I would love to spend some time in the paddock and the assembly area to capture some candid photography and some portraits and will try to schedule this into my future plans.

It’s safe to say that I came away from the Goodwood Festival of Speed this year with a new passion for the historic racing ‘scene’ and will be looking to cover some historic racing events in the future, so watch this space.

I shot a lot of frames during my four days at the Festival of Speed but for this post I’ve included only 25 images. Not necessarily the ‘best’ images (that’s always a matter for personal choice and taste), but my ‘favourite’ images from the weekend.

A full gallery of my Festival of Speed images can be viewed here.

But for now, I hope you enjoy my favourites…..

Audi Sport quattro S1

Audi Sport quattro S1

Ferrari 156 'sharknose'

Ferrari 156 ‘sharknose’

Maserati A6GCS

Maserati A6GCS

Bugatti Type 35C

Bugatti Type 35C

Derrington Francis ATS GP

Derrington Francis ATS GP

Audi 200 quattro

Audi 200 quattro

Mercedes Benz W196 - Sir Stirling Moss

Mercedes Benz W196 – Sir Stirling Moss

Austin Mini Cooper S

Austin Mini Cooper S

Auto Union Type C

Auto Union Type C

Mercedes Grand Prix

Mercedes Grand Prix

Mercedes Benz W125

Mercedes Benz W125

Jaguar D-Type 'Prototype'

Jaguar D-Type ‘Prototype’

Mercedes Benz W165 - Sir Jackie Stewart

Mercedes Benz W165 – Sir Jackie Stewart

Lotus-Cosworth 79

Lotus-Cosworth 79

Bentley Speed Six 'Old Number Two'

Bentley Speed Six ‘Old Number Two’

Ferrari 250 GT LWB

Ferrari 250 GT LWB

LE Mans 24 Hours winner, Andre Lotterer sign autographs

LE Mans 24 Hours winner, Andre Lotterer sign autographs

Mazda FD RX7 - 'Mad' Mike Whiddett

Mazda FD RX7 – ‘Mad’ Mike Whiddett

McLaren-Chevrolet M8F

McLaren-Chevrolet M8F

Renault Type K

Renault Type K

Subaru Impreza Group N

Subaru Impreza Group N

Mercedes Benz C-Class AMG

Mercedes Benz C-Class AMG

Hyundai i20 WRC

Hyundai i20 WRC

Williams-Renault FW18

Williams-Renault FW18

 

All images © Scott Dennis

Leave a Reply

